Premier Wellington Competition 2022/23 

This competition is played mid-week across the men's and women's premier Wellington teams starting on the 1st of February 2023. The men's teams will play on Tuesday evenings, while the women will play on Thursday evenings. 

We have 5 teams in each of the men's and women's grades...

Men's Teams - Miramar, Poneke Kilbirnie. Island Bay, Tawa, and Porirua City United

Women's Teams - Miramar, Poneke Kilbirnie, Johnsonville, Tawa, and Central Sports. 

Competition Format

6-Week Competition 

1x Round Robin

1v2 Final

The winners will be awarded the Te Ahi trophy. 

The Women’s Te Ahi Kaa trophy was expertly carved by Nathan Rei from Toi Rakau Carvers (Ngati Toa Iwi) whilst the Men’s Te Ahi Kaa trophy is a carved and refurbished National League trophy.

These trophies will then become the “Ranfurly Shield” of our local club competition, with the holders of the trophy having to put the trophy on the line every time they meet another Wellington team for next year's Intercity/Wellington Competition.